top of page

Nicki Minaj's Latest Hit: Last Time I Saw You

Nicki Minaj has been gearing up for the release of her fifth studio album "Pink Friday 2." The album was originally suppose to drop November 17, 2023, but was pushed back.

 
Nicki Minaj  for PINK FRIDAY 2
Nicki Minaj for PINK FRIDAY 2

Nicki Minaj has been readying up to release a very special project for the barbz - her loyal and fierce fanbase. The project gave the barbz nostalgia as Minaj released the name titled "Pink Friday 2" which is reminiscent of her debut album Pink Friday. The album was set to originally be released on November 17, 2023, but has found a new release date.


The album will now be released on December 8, 2023 which is Minaj's birthday. One of the lead singles off of the album was released on September 1, 2023. The sound of "Last Time I Saw You" instantly gave flashback down memory lane to when Minaj released her first album. The track takes a peak into the star's more vulnerable side.


Nicki Minaj Pink Friday 2 Alternative Cover
Nicki Minaj Pink Friday 2 Alternative Cover

She sings, "Begging me to stay, and then you walk away."


She continues on with, "There's something that you wanted to say

I was in a rush, but you said you were crushed


And I said, "I'd be back, it's okay"

I wish I'da hugged you tighter the last time that I saw you


I wish I didn't waste precious time the night when I called you

I wish I remembered to say I'd do anything for you


Maybe I pushed you away because I thought that I'd bore you."


This is a huge tell of the pain and power in which Minaj is willing to share moving into this new found solace of hers. The Queen of rap talks of her guilt on the track. She has said make sure you have better experiences with those around you (Vogue, 2023). Minaj stated on Twitter now known as (X), " Even tho reliving the memories did feel ‘sad,’ after I wrote, recorded, [and] lived [with] it, it actually made me pay more attention to the people I still DO have, and how important it is to cherish them and have fun NOW in the moment,” she wrote. “Telling them how much you adore them, etc. [It] made me so happy." Williams, 2023).


Minaj in her 73 questions with Vogue mentioned how during her pregnancy it was hard to record explicit songs. This caused her to pause recording for her album for a while - she also happened to be pregnant at a time when there was a lot of uncertainty in the world when Covid was happening all around us.


She told Vogue she had to get back to putting all of her essence in her music, and in 20 days we will finally be able to hear PIINK FRIDAY 2.



Check out Nicki Minaj's newest single "Last Time I Saw You" here:













  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
bottom of page