top of page

RoccThaRoyal Shows the Obstacles People of Color Face In America Through His Music - WhoDatWednesday

Written by Kenny Meyers


RoccThaRoyal, born and raised in Inglewood, California, always had a passion for music. Growing up in the city, Rocc faced police brutality, gang violence, and racial profiling. With songs like “No Justice,” Rocc expressed what is going on in his world through his music. He paints a vivid picture with soulful melodies, painful lyrics, and a remarkable flow. Whenever you listen to Rocc’s music, you always feel like he is telling you a story. After hearing the stories he tells, you would feel like you have a personal connection with them. His audience is captured by his intellectual lyrics that expand your mind with knowledge as he tells the untold truth of Black America.


Tell us a little bit about yourself.

Brandon Ball, Born in Inglewood, California. Inglewood became my first home. Growing up in the city of Champs I always knew I was destined for greatness. As a young black man, I have been faced with the common horror stories. From Police brutality, gang violence, and racial profiling. Music has been the way I expressed what is going on in my world. At the age of 12 is when I became aware of my rap skills, I started my musical journey playing the drums which followed me to high school as I played in drumline for a short period of time. Growing up I remember my Dad's collection of 12’ vinyl and cassette tapes, some nights as he would listen to music I would sit with him and listen to artists from the 60s to the present day. I grew to have my own likings such as New Edition, Earth Wind and Fire, Slick Rick, Kool n the Gang, and 2 Live Crew just to name a few. In my music, I want to tell stories. Rather it’s my story or what's going on around me. My goal is to have my success, hard work, and dedication pay off to show kids that are growing up in the city I was raised in and people all over the world that no matter where you come from or what obstacles life throw at you, continue to follow your dreams and make it possible.


Describe your music style?

My style of music lands in the storytelling aspect. I like to paint pictures, set a plot, and work emotions. My production process consists of picking beats that hear myself on. The music has to speak to me in order for me to speak back. I work off a pure vibe. I’m very hands-on when it comes to instrumentation as well.


How did you get your name?

Rocc is short for Rocco. I gained this name off my personality and physical abilities. Being strong-minded, strong foundation, not easily broken nor moved. I played football in my childhood years so physically Rocc solid. I blew my knee which cut that dream short. My nickname carried. I personally added Tha Royal for me to add adjectives for wordplay. As I matured the “O” dropped.


What sets you apart from other artists?

What sets me apart, is my technical skills. Most artists don’t know what goes into their mix. I understand music from the science aspect as well as the creative side. Again, hands-on in all phases of my craft.

I want everything to be perfect. I’ll listen to a track every day all day to make sure it’s exactly how it needs to be.


Rocc’s personality is always reflecting on his music. Some of the artists who influenced some of Rocc’s soulful storytelling is Slick Rick, Kool n The Gang, Earth Wind & Fire, and New Edition. With his music, his goal is to let people all over the world know the obstacles that the community goes through in America. RoccThaRoyal wants to create a better community around him and show no matter where you come from, continue to follow your dreams, and make it possible.


Check out RoccThaRoyal's music video for "No Justice." Let us know what you think!

Instagram: @3300Climbing

Twitter: @3300Climbing

Facebook: @3300+Climbing

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
bottom of page