top of page

Justin Time may be a Rookie, but he has a major message for his listeners

Originally from Atlanta, Justin moved to Jacksonville Florida at a young age. Growing up in a house filled with R&B vibes and Aaliyah's "Rock The Boat" playing on repeat, Justin was surrounded by music and knew that it would be in his future. He ended up writing his first single in his freshman year of high school, which led to a crazy performance at his school. The Douglas Anderson School of Art provided Justin Time with the "outlet and the opportunity to be unique and creative."

At first listen, vibes of Chance the Rapper come through, but the gospel rap artist spits real life into the mic that could maintain the attention of sinners of any kind. A future that Justin thought included becoming a choir director, quickly changed when he realized making his own music is where his path was headed.


3300+Climbing had the opportunity of catching up with Justin Time to talk about him and his most recent project, "I Not Sorry."



What led to the name Justin Time, and why did you add “the Rookie” following the release of your project “Seasons of 12”


"I remember my grandma used to call me that when I was little 'cause I hate being late to things and when I was getting ready to release the album, I was like I gotta think of a name,' so I thought of Justin Time, and I was like, 'Okay, it's kinda catchy.' But shortly later, I thought, 'I wonder who else had Justin Time when I look it up.' I look up 'Justin Time' and people will be surprised how many people have dubbed themselves 'Justin Time' 'cause their name's actually Justin. It was crazy, and I was like, 'Oh man, I said I gotta stand out.' At the time, I had just got done playing my last season of football at the Terry Parker high school in Jacksonville, while I was going to Douglass Anderson. I remember my freshman year making varsity, and I kind of felt like a rookie... You know, they'd be like, 'Pick up the pads, Rookie.' So I said. 'Well, what if I called myself Justin Time the Rookie?' Because at the time, I was new inside that music industry. So I said, 'Well that makes sense.' And that's how Justin Time the Rookie was born."


What is the story behind your most recent project “I Not Sorry”?


"I Not Sorry, I actually began writing that my first year of college at South Eastern University. So as I was going through school at this time I wasn't even thinking of being a recording artist. I said I was going to go get my degree in Music Business and become a choir director in a church. I am very religious and I believe in God and at that time during the year, something called me for something greater. Slowly I began writing my music. I ended up having surgery to get rid of some sinus issue and was insecure about the way I sung. After the surgery, I thought I was going to come out sounding like Usher. When I didn't, it hit me, I can sing my voice is unique. I had to learn not only to love my voice but to love who I am as an artist. That is essentially what the album is about, me being unapologetically me.


What message do you want listeners to gain from your music?


"The reason I make music is to get a platform to help people. Music is the gift that I was blessed with. I always want to share with people through my music two things:


1. It's okay to be who you are. Celebrate who you are even. There's nobody in the world like you.


2. Whatever platform you have, big or small, and whatever you believe in, always use that to help somebody that can't help themselves. I always try to implement that through my music, to be unique, and to help others with the gifts that you have."

 

Justin Time raps with a deep flow that is especially powerful when paired with the R&B style beats that can be found throughout his projects. Growing up, he was inspired by the legendary Michael Jackson and is aspiring to work with the living legend, Beyoncé. With a positive message for his listeners, Justin Time continues to create tracks that communicate lyrical messages of positivity and empowerment; and 3300+Climbing is excited to see what the year has in store for this artist.

Make sure to catch Justin Time The Rookie on all streaming platforms.




Check out Justin Time's latest project "I Not Sorry" Let us know what you think!


Instagram: @3300Climbing

Twitter: @3300Climbing

Facebook: @3300+Climbing








  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
bottom of page