top of page

Is Sable Myers the Industry's Next Hottest A&R?

After serving ten years fighting for our country, Sable Myers had dreams of following her path in the music industry. She started in the Army and continued to serve as a medic until 2016. How did Sable end up at Full Sail? Well, that transpired at a New Year's Eve Party. Sable had been promoting the party with someone she knew from the Army and he recommended Full Sail. Long story short, she applied and after her lease was up, Sable packed her things and took her dreams to Full Sail. Her accomplishments since attending Full Sail are extensive, and calling her a hard-worker would not begin to justify her many accomplishments. Sable grew up with music in her family. Her grandmother worked as an A&R assistant at Motown and she knew, after watching her travels and opportunities to work with different artists, that she wanted to follow the same path. After hosting several events with SCA, working at the Dr. Phillips arena, having her own show with the Rollins College radio station, the list goes on. 3300+Climbing has finally been able to catch up with Sable and talk about some of her goals and accomplishments.



At what point did you know music was the right direction for you?


So really just the amount of love and respect that I got while I was in Washington, sort of vibed that I was really doing the right thing. And then what really got me is, my last couple of years out there, artists started asking me just to manage them. I was like "What are you talking about manage?" like "What do you need a manager for?" I had to start researching and stuff, and I was like, "Hold on, there's really managers out there?" And people that I knew, that I kinda looked up to growing up, they was other artists' managers. So I just started managing a couple local artists out there and really getting them booked. The first artist I asked him, "Why did you ask me to be your manager?" He was like, "Cause you already putting me on shows, and that's what a manager does, that's what a booking agent manager does." And I was like, "Oh, you got talent, so... I know this promoter needs artists, that's why I'm putting you on." It just got to that where a lot of people was coming to me for certain things, and I could always put them in the right place, or I could see an artist's, or whoever, potential and talent and just link them with the right people.


How has 3300+Climbing impacted your experience at Full Sail, and what value did you gain from your experience?


I remember the first day I was at orientation at Full Sail and they had all the Business students go speak to one of the course directors. The course director that ended up speaking to us was Israel. He was talking about artist development, how he could help, where you can intern, and just help that would get you to a record label. I was like so that's what I need to do because it's not in me just to do school work and that's it. So I was like, "Okay, so that's a club I'm interested in," So I came there when they were working with Lo Vale. Lo Vale was a dope artist, he really made me feel like I was at home, and the first kind of event that I got to meet him in person was his listening party. That kind of solidified me wanting to do more with 3300, because we kind of planned the listening party really fast and it came together, and to see that place packed as it was, and Lo Vale really having a good time and enjoy the students, I was like, "Yeah, we can do more with 3300." So it was really after that that I really started getting more involved, 'cause before then I was kinda just coming around in and out, but I was also doing other things. I mean 3300, it taught me a lot. It taught me really how to work with artists and deal with artists. Or not being frustrated or not showing that you're frustrated, but always coming up with a solution to a problem and really planning it out. Also communicating with people that might not understand what you're saying, or get the passion or the drive behind what the artist is doing. So Israel, how he handles 3300 and how he let us really take over and do things, that kinda got me around the school, and instructors just started reaching out to me and saying, "You're doing a lot with 3300 and we want you to come to talk to us." And we started really building a great team.


When did you become a host with 91.5 and what are some of the things that you do to maintain people’s attention when hosting an event?

So I had two instructors recommend me, actually tell me about the radio station. One was Victoria, I was actually in her class, she does the Portfolio III class with the music video. And she said that she got an email about Rollins needing a radio host and DJ. She was like "I think you would be a great fit." So she sent me the information email back, and it was crazy 'cause literally two hours later, Israel sent me the same email, and was like, "I think you should reach out to them." And I was like, "Well, clearly it's meant to be." So Jerry, who is the concert and touring instructor at Full Sail, he is actually the one that's over the Full Sail students working at Rollins. So I reached out to him, I sent him everything that he asked for. He said, "I love it. You can come in, start doing training."So my first day on the radio was actually February 2019, and been doing it ever since, every Friday, 3:00 to 5:00 in the morning. Sometimes I would do it 3:00 to 7:00 in the morning, because Jerry was right after me, doing his show from 5:00 to 7:00, and when he wouldn't come in he would just contact me and I stay on there til '7:00 in the morning. It was just a good fit because on Fridays, that's Friday morning anyway, you have the college students going home, then if I stay 'til 7:00 in the morning, you have those people that's waking up in the morning to get to work. So it kinda was a great fit.

To get peoples attention on the radio, I knew I was getting more of a younger crowd, so I always come with the newest music, and what I do is I talk about what's going on in the music industry, like the latest gossip news and rumors, and just have them always kinda comment and reply on our Instagram page. Also I always was playing local artists, and I always would play at least three to five Full Sail artists on Friday. So it was always a mixture. I learned that I actually love hosting at clubs and venues more than I like DJing. Because I can interact with the crowd, I can go down from the DJ booth, I can go in the crowd, interact, and I can actually talk to the people. And folks love it. I've done a lot of hosting events within the past year, and people are like "You're a great host." That's kind of how I got into hosting all the networking summits at Full Sail, because they was like "You know how to talk to people, you know how to get people engaged in what you're saying and whats going on." So that's really what I do.

What advice can you give to creatives who may need to come out of their shell more in order to make valuable connections?


Don't be scared to go out and network. Even if you don't go out, we all have social media. So somewhat you can always reach out on social media. I found within the last year, that has been more easier for me. I've never been a person, I never really liked social media, until I got to Full Sail. And I was never on it to really message anybody. But last year, I went to five conferences last year, music conferences and networking was always what you had to do. You can't go to a conference and not network, you can't go to a conference and not talk to people. Coming to Full Sail, I've learned that you have to talk to get out of your shell. Even when you're nervous to talk to somebody, they might be just as nervous as you. So, really getting out your shell, talking to people. And I would say at least if you wanna be in positions to work in a higher place, reach out to people, Instagram and Twitter. Don't be afraid to send that message.


What artists have you worked with and what are some of the most memorable things you’ve learned from them?


My first artist's name was Bama The Prince. He's in Seattle. He's a hip hop artist. I worked with a guy named Suave, he's actually in the military, but he's an artist from Georgia. CrewBoyz Verse, I kinda still help him out, I'm like his tour manager right now. He was in the Army, he got out and now he's doing a lot of things just around Seattle and out here in Atlanta. I even pitched him a couple of times for my assignments at Full Sail, so he's a dope artist. Then CreativAngel, I worked with him for a good four months before I left, and that was the artist I pitched in my artist pitch class. It's crazy when I first met him, it was his personality that got me, I probably didn't even really listen to his music at first. He was just a cool dude, and then "The 7" when I first seen the video, I heard it around Orlando and I was like, "Who is this?" And they would play it at all the clubs all the time. I finally met him, and Young Scholar, and I was like, "Oh, they're dope." I've learned from CreativAngel not to take everything as seriously as I should, always think positive never think negative. With Crew Boy Verse, I've learned that you have to research and know what you want before you go into any record label. Like a record label pitch. Know what your artist wants and artists need to know what they want. If they have a number, they need to know their numbers. If they wanna just work on certain things, then they need to say that too. So I've learned to really speak up and know what I want. I think Bamma taught me, because he was my first artist, he just taught me how to be patient. Patience is key. Because alot of things, we was kind of rushing when we could have really been patient and could have really all benefited at the end of the day.


There is more to come from Sable Myers and 3300+Climbing cannot wait to see what she has in store!


Check Sable out on social media!


Keep up with us on our Social Media to discover more artists and music industry professionals with each #WhoDatWednesday

Instagram: @3300Climbing

Twitter: @3300Climbing

Facebook: @3300+Climbing

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
bottom of page