top of page

Giving Kudos to the Kuudoze #WhoDatWednesday


From Goldsboro, North Carolina, up and coming artist KuuDoze has been developing his own sound, creating dope tracks for his growing fan base like “Stay” and “Pressure Gets High.” I checked out one of his most recent shows where he packed out a local bar in Waldorf, Maryland. Following the show, I got to talk with him about his development as an independent artist.



What’s your earliest memory in music and how have you developed as an artist since then?


Kuu: My earliest memory in music was rapping on the bus in High school and surprising everybody. No one really knew I could rap like that until then. I’ve developed tremendously since then especially skill wise.


As an independent artist what are some of your biggest challenges?


Kuu: As in independent artist the most challenging thing is doing almost everything by yourself. I record my own music, and do my own promotion.


As far as your distribution, and your shows, how do you go about taking care of these things? Do you have a manager, or a team, and what difference do they make in your progress as an artist?


Kuu: My team definitely helps me distribute once the ball is rolling. My manager does the finances and the booking of shows. They help me progress a lot, even just by simply saying “don’t quit”


Your music is played on the radio in North Carolina. As an independent artist, how important is it to network, and do you have any advice for other artists on ways to get their music played on the radio?


Kuu: Networking is very important, because you never know who knows who. Networking plays a major part in the music business. As far as getting radio play, I would say just be yourself and people will start to notice. I have a single titled “Stay” that I made 4 years ago, and TODAY is now getting play on different radio stations. A lot of people think they have to reach out to the radio stations but if you’re on your job they will reach out to you.


In June, 92.7 Jamz and the city of Goldsboro, North Carolina hosted the Jamz Out Juneteenth Emancipation Day Festival. This was the first Emancipation Day festival for the city which was a fun-filled day with performances from artists which included KuuDoze.


How did you get involved with North Carolina’s Juneteenth Festival and what was the experience like for you?


Kuu: I got involved with North Carolina’s Juneteenth Festival by the radio station reaching out to me. It was probably one of the greatest experiences of my life. Goldsboro, Nc had never had that holiday celebrated nor have they ever done anything for it. I was a part of history so that was great for me.


KuuDoze has previously released two EP’s titled “The Groove” and “Overdue.” His recent album titled “Strictly 4 the Trenches,” which contains some dope tracks like “Letter to Savage,” “Soul,” and “Legendary,” was released October 26th. The album is now on all streaming platforms!






Follow the artist Kuudoze on

Instagram: @Kuudoze

Follow us on our Instagram | Twitter to never miss another #WhoDatWednesday



  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
bottom of page