top of page

3300+Climbing Gets to Rap With Buppy.


It is not every day that you get to have a chat with a star in the making. Growing up, Buppy's life was not all peaches and cream. As I got to have a chat with Buppy, I realized he is humble, determined, and driven to leave a mark in the music industry. You don't find many at his age, running a label, promoting himself, and still going to school. So join me as I climb to another level with Buppy.

Who are some of your influences in music? It's kind of funny, I'm all over the place when it comes to music. You might be like "what?" when I tell you. When it comes to lyrical content I am most influenced by Benny The Butcher. I would like to experiment with that type of lyrical flow and add it to pop rap tracks. My biggest influence overall would be Lil Peep in such aspect as to image, branding, and music.


Who is in your top five when it comes to Hip Hop? 1. Kendrick Lamar 2. Kanye West (As a Producer) 3. Mobb Deep 4. Lil Uzi 5. Young Thug (As to the Game)


Where do you see Buppy in the next 5 years? Dude, I see Buppy on a billboard in the next 5 years. Realistically though, I am 16, so for me, I can screw around the next 5 years (joking). In the next year, I want to at least have a label offer. In the next 5 years, I want to sit down and sign and figure out where I want to invest all my time as artistry or music videos. At this stage, I have to do a lot myself like mixing and mastering, find people to shoot my videos, and so forth. It takes away from me just being an artist. Even if it is not a label, I want to find a solid team within the next year to add to the two managers that I already have; Alexander Barrett and Eleanor Kingston. Once I do that I can concentrate on one part of my career, instead of everything at once.


What have been some of the challenges and obstacles that have been in your way? When you're young it is hard to be taken seriously. Then I am from Utah, so for me, it consisted of me coming to a place where there are more opportunities as to the music industry. Also, promoting is a challenge, because you have to get to know the right people and letting them know that you are serious. One thing I see a lot of is, people hitting promoters up and their music is not up to par, so they are not taken seriously. Then when their music is up to par, that opportunity may have passed, because that promoter still don't take you seriously. Another obstacle is having a budget, if you don't have one, then you are not taken seriously, because the music industry can be a financial strain on some.


Where does your inspiration come from when you are creating music? I did not grow up in a musical family. I started making EDM music when I was in the 5th grade. I used to play a lot of video games and I did not like the soundtracks, so I created music to listen to while I played my video games. I switched to rap around the 7th grade. I never thought about producing, I just wanted to rap. I was inspired at the time by my older brother. He was not a rapper, however, he listened to a lot of rap music and he introduced me to Odd Future. It was at that point I began pursuing it.


What would it be like to hang out with Buppy for a day? It would be pretty normal. Definitely will be in the studio recording, mixing, or mastering some music. I also work on other artist's records, I run my own label. I am always working on budgets, promotion, and marketing for my artist. After all that, I still have school, so I am hitting the books. Spending the day with me would be pretty chill for the most part.


Who would be one producer that you would like to work with? K.C. Supreme is from Utah and that is one producer I would want to work with. I think what he does is sick.


What artist would you like to collaborate with? The one artist that I would like to collaborate with is Deep October because he is very selective as to his vocal and that is what I like about him.


Where did the inspiration come from for your track "Until Its Over"? This was the last song I wrote on the Bedroom Tapes Vol. 1. There were 11 songs that I mixed, however, I sent those off to get mastered. The last five songs I recorded while the 11 were getting mixed. These 5 songs were not supposed to go on that album, however, I decided that they should go on the album. When I wrote that song, I was super super sad, but I was also on the verge of dropping my album. Up until this point, things were not the best. But, I was like until its over, I am going to keep going and pushing through it. The first half of this song was about some girl that I had a bunch of issues with in my life. It describes how I felt alienated by her and how she affected my mental health. The second half was about my father and his role in my life and how he has neglected to care for me for 16 years. It did come out a deep song and it is a song that I am super proud of. I think it's my favorite on the album.


Music allows people to become emotionally connected. It does not matter where you come from, how much money you have, what you look like, how your dress, who you choose to love, what gender you are, or your ethnic background. It allows some to cry, some to laugh, some to dance and others just to sit back and relax. When I listen to Buppy, I can resonate with his message. Life is not easy and it will be the hardest game you will ever play. No matter what you are going through, you have to keep pushing through it. Like the title of Buppy's last track on Bedroom Tapes Vol. 1 "Until Its Over", lets you know that you have to keep pushing until it's over. There is not a doubt that Buppy will reach billboards, Buppy will also reach those that are in need and have been through or is dealing with pain. Buppy's music will help someone to keep pushing because it is not over.


Check out Buppy's Track "Until It's Over"



Keep up with us on our Social Media to discover more artists and music industry professionals with each #WhoDatWednesday

Instagram: @3300Climbing

Twitter: @3300Climbing

Facebook: @3300+Climbing


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
bottom of page