top of page

3300+Climbing Catches up With Kg Lillian Former Lead Singer of January May



It has been a few years since we have had the pleasure of working with January May, our first artist. I can remember like it was yesterday, hearing January May play at the Full Sail University's Audition back in 2015. From that point on, I knew that this small town band was going to reach new heights. However, we all know when life hits, new directions tend to form and January May, in the year 2016, announced that they would not be performing as a group anymore. Sometimes in life, we have to find ourselves and that is just what the members of January May did. I was excited about the chance to catch up with the lead singer, Kg Lillian, for an interview to hear about her journey. This is what she had to say!


It has been a few years since you worked with 3300+Climbing, can you explain how your journey has been as a solo artist? Since working with 3300+Climbing, my career has shifted and evolved so much. I had an amazing experience with 3300+Climbing while in January May! Since our band divided in 2016, I spent the last 4 years developing my solo sound, collaborating, performing, and finally returning to Austin, TX at the end of 2019. After releasing a few singles, it feels so good to finally have my debut solo EP out in the world for everyone to hear. I feel like it pays tribute to the effort I've put in since January May dissolved to polish myself as a solo artist and creative overall.

Do you think that there will ever be a January May reunion Album? It's hard to know if there will ever be a January May reunion project. There currently isn't anything in the pipeline but that's not to say it won't ever happen. I'm open to reuniting to work together again one day!

What advice would you give a band that wants to be in the music industry? Some of the best advice I've been given that I'd love to pass on is that there will never be too much new music. The industry is saturated and there's new music coming out every day, but that doesn't mean there isn't a place for what you could contribute. It's also important to know that not everyone will vibe with what you create, and that's okay. I think the peach quote fits here; you could be the juiciest peach in the world and someone still won't like peaches. You could be the dopest lo-fi artist in all the land and someone will still prefer indie pop. Never stop creating authentically and you'll find your audience. 



What inspired you to create your new EP Palm Valley? I think like most artists and songwriters, this EP came from the need to have a vessel for my emotions and what I was experiencing the last 4-6 years of my life. Songwriting is one of my forms of therapy, and releasing those songs is how I let go. It's also how I hope to reach people who may feel alone in some of the things they're going through. Palm Valley wraps up my heartbreak as the band ended, my evolution as I found my self worth, and the depth of feelings that came with finding new love. It's the closure of a chapter and the mark of a new beginning.  As I continue to listen to "19", I wonder what is your emotional connection to that song? 19 is one of my favorites that I've written in the last few years. It follows a summer fling I had at that age and the discovery and understanding of myself that followed the end of it. I think it's kind of a coming-of-age track that speaks on what a lot of us go through; a love that doesn't work but teaches us a lot. I had been wanting to release a track on that year of my life ever since I lived it, and I was finally able to this year at the age of 25. What does the future hold for KG Lillian? Now that I've ripped off the Band-Aid and gotten the first EP out in the world, I'm more than eager to share more projects and get back into performing. I've shifted from the heartache and growth that the last few years taught me to a more empowered and strengthened perspective, which shows in my writing. I'm excited to share that fresh mindset and the tracks on Palm Valley when I return to live shows. Obviously 2020 has slowed my stage time (and every other artist's) but once things begin to return to normal, I'm hoping to plan a mini tour. I'd love to come see 3300+Climbing when I do! 


We all have to find our purpose, and sometimes that means taking a journey to find out who you are. That is just what Kg Lillian did, by developing her sound as a solo artist, dealing with life's emotions that hits us all in different forms. Kg's music is a testimony of how to reshape those feelings to make you a stronger person. As I listened to Palm Valley, you could tell that Kg Lillian put her heart and soul into that EP. Kg Lillian, stated, "I hope that I can reach people that may feel alone in what they are going through". She definitely will!


Keep up with us on social media!

Instagram: @3300Climbing

Facebook: @3300Climbing

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
bottom of page