top of page

Meet the Composer and Producer Victor Lee #WhoDatWednesday

Victor Lee, a multi-instrumentalist based in Indiana, has put a whole new feel on fan engagement. Victor has been playing the piano “since [he] was too small to crawl up a piano chair” … really, and this desire to play turned into the taking of classical lessons for about 5 years when he was young. Eventually, Victor. Began teaching himself, and evolving as a musician, expanding his …. Into playing the bass, and taking recorder, and ocarina lessons. At the time he wrote his first song in 2013, this musician turned into a producer as well. There are many aspects of producing that differ across styles of music.


For this musician, producing can look like over 100 hours of work, which is what his latest 2020 release took. This is because of the fact that Victor plays each section from the instrument itself rather than drawing the notes in the production software. To say the least Victor is a “well-rounded” musician who continues to grow. He recently got to experience the National Association of Music Merchants conference, which is ultimately a top conference to go to for artists in terms of networking and education opportunities. 3300+Climbing had the privilege of catching up with Victor following his experience in LA.

How have you developed as an artist since the release of your first single?

- Aside from the obvious direct effort to grow such as practicing instruments and studying/exploring harmonies and ideas, I have also been spending time to nurture my mind as well. I have recently gone back to working out regularly again, which seems to be helping me be more efficient and get clarity on top of maintaining overall health. Also taking in good life experiences to fuel creativity has been inspiring and enriching songwriting as well. If I can’t get much direct experience, I’d try to experience them indirectly, like through a good movie or a book.

Last year, I struggled with keeping my mind healthy from overwhelming self-doubt and massive influx of questions I asked myself that I couldn’t find good answers for. So honestly, I’m mostly focusing on striking a good balance between work and personal life nowadays! It’s a lifelong journey and I want to enjoy the process, rather than endlessly chase something on a very narrow path without being able to look around on the way there.


You offer guitar lessons and also have for purchase the transcriptions to your debut album. When did you decide to teach music, and what inspired the decision to teach your debut album?

- I really enjoy teaching; besides music stuff, I was a teaching assistant for an electrical engineering class back when I was in university for a couple of years. And for guitars, I started giving lessons 7 years ago and never stopped since.

Shortly after I put out Strangely Familiar album, a couple of people did covers of songs just listening to the songs. That made me think that people might actually want to learn the songs and I transcribed the songs to make them available. I work with a very talented transcriber named Gabbo Puente who usually double checks my transcription after I notate them and sometimes does a chunk of transcription himself when I need someone to share the load as well!


What was your experience like at NAMM 2020 and as an independent artist what value can be gained from attending NAMM?

NAMM is exceptional for networking, first and foremost.

We get to meet people and companies behind the products we use and love.

Moreover, we get to build relationships with old and new friends who share the same drive and passion which is quite inspiring, to be honest. I always come home absolutely humbled.


Conversations that I get to exchange with other artists give me fresh perspective and leave me with something to think about- the fact that I get to share mine and take in many others at one single place is pretty fantastic. I’m new to attending as this year was my second time. I just go mainly to spend time with my like-minded friends from all over the globe and that alone, I’d say, makes it worth attending. Although, every year so far, I have been fortunate enough to have run into opportunities and relationships that are helpful for my career to grow in several different ways!





Victor Lee, to say the least, is talented and has a bright future within the music industry. His time and effort that he puts into all of his arrangements is unbelievable. Fan engagement is a big factor in the longevity of an artist and releasing transcripts to teach his fans both old and new, their favorites take this factor to a whole new level. Victor Lee’s music can be found on all streaming platforms, and we cannot wait to see what he has in store for 2020!


Check out the amazingly talented Victor Lee here: Instagram: @victorlee335

He is really active on Youtube has some really nice videos you should check out! YouTube: Victor Lee

 

Keep up with us to never miss another #WhoDatWednesday

Instagram:

Twitter:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
bottom of page