top of page

Creativity Flows within the KPOP Rapper ANGDEV


Written by Eddie Hughes IV


ANGDEV, Ryu Min Hyo, was born in Busan Korean. He has been making music on Soundcloud since March of 2019. From time to time he paints his cover art for his songs and Instagram posts. Even if you don’t speak Korean, his music is the next generation of Hip-Hop for the K rap world.


Eddie: What got you into music?


ANGDEV: Well; when I was 8 to 9 years old, I heard Kpop and American pop songs in my father’s car, so that is how I was interested in music. When I was 17, I heard the first real hip hop through a friend, it was so exciting to hear the rhythmical sound, and the rhymes are so cool, but I never thought it would be my job because at first it was for money. When I was 21, I was a university student at the time, there was a legendary hip hop label called “ILLIONARE”, when they released 11:11 in 2014, their message said “you all can do anything” I felt very inspirational because I had a very small dream to become a rapper, and that’s how I decided I wanted to rap and be a rapper. In my music, I try to send the message of who I am, what I think, and that we can live better.


Do you have any musical influences; if so, are they from the Western world of music or are they in the K-rap community?


I like K-Rap; but sometimes both, my favorite K rappers are Beenzino; E-sens, Simon dominic, Swings, Zico, Dok2, The Quiett, Paloalto, Verbal Jint, huckleberryP, and so many rappers. But if I were to choose my top favorite K rappers is Beenzino; Paloalto, and E-sens, and my favorite American rappers are Lil Dicky, and J Cole.


How did you and Minwoo become friends? (Minwoo is his best friend that presented him to 3300+ the artist pitches…)


We met in middle school; but what I also remember is I had a lot of other friends too, especially since our school was so small, but I can’t remember exactly what Minwoo did to become my friend, we just became friends.



What goals and people do you want to meet in America, and have you traveled beforehand?


I have not traveled to America before; I really wouldn’t want to live there either, because I love my country, but I plan to live in New York in June.


How did you hear about 3300 + Climbing?


Through my friend Minwoo actually; are you in a big music group [not exactly], and did you do work with an artist who had a halftime stage on NBA? My memory isn’t working today, sorry.


Who was your inspiration for your paintings?


Me and only me… Actually I love Bernard Buffet art, with Van Gough, Picaso, Francis Bacon, etc, but even though they are my inspirations, I don’t want to follow their paintings, I want to paint my style.



Thank you so much for being here ANGDEV


You’re very welcome. but nowadays I hear the coronavirus is hitting America, you must keep safe from that, and thank you for your attention.



Big Thanks to ANGDEV for allowing 3300+Climbing to interview him for #WhoDatWednesday


You can follow the KPOP Rapper here:

Instagram: @newminyo_rmh Big Shoutout to his friend for introducing him to us: @mwoo_c

 

Follow us to discover more amazing artists!

Instagram: @3300Climbing Twitter: @3300Climbing

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
bottom of page