top of page

3300+Climbing Chats with Matthew Darius Campbell Former Member of January May


It's not every day that you get to interview two members from the same band. Did I get lucky? I don't know what January May means to some; however, I do know what they meant to 3300+Climbing. It gave us the chance to help a band grow in different aspects of the Music Industry. Working with talent like January May brings out the excitement that words are unable to express. Just like January Mays's fans, we felt the same emotions when we heard the news that January May would be going on their separate journeys in 2016. I immediately hopped at the opportunity to chat with Matthew Darius Campbell about his adventure after January May. Here is what Matthew and I chatted about!


What has your career path been like since you last worked with 3300+Climbing?

It seems like only yesterday that I was travelling around the U.S. with the band and working on big things with 3300+Climbing. Since then I've been all over the world taking time to find what music really means to me. I'd be lying if I said that the band splitting up was easy. It's taken a lot of work to try and understand myself and what role music has in my life. Directly following 'the split' my brother and I moved to New Zealand, bought a van, and travelled around the country for a year. I'm tempted to say that it was the perfect form of escapism. I'll always remember that time very fondly. During that year I wrote small bits and pieces of music to help me express my thoughts and experience post-January May. That's the Lukewarm EP. After that I moved to Melbourne, the magical Australian city of trams on every street, coffee on every corner, and talented songwriters in every pub. It didn't take long for me to plunge back into the music industry and begin writing again with fervor. Although this time I wasn't just writing songs but also short stories and poems and prose and free-form nonsense. The guitar and piano have taken a backseat to the pen (more accurately: the keyboard). Even though I haven't released anything (yet!) to support my claims of creative proliferation I can honestly say that the past 2.5 years in Melbourne have been wonderful. I've had the opportunity to get my feet wet again in a band context; writing songs with my mate, Floyd, for our project FM Thread. We put out our debut EP, Evergreen, at the end of last year. Between the move from NZ to Australia I toured around Midwest America for my Lukewarm EP. I also was fortunate enough to squeeze in a vacation to Mexico before the pandemic came sweeping in.


What has your creative process been like during this Pandemic?

After just barely making it back to my home in Australia this past March I've gone through the common stages of pandemic emotions. At first when things didn't seem so 'real' my partner and I had a lot of fun in lockdown. I spend a lot of this time writing, reading, cooking, and making art. It was a creative high point for me. Then the pandemic carried on and on. Down under winter came creeping in, the days got shorter, more and more people on the news were sick and dying. Not to mention all the other insane newsworthy events 2020 has brought us. It became difficult to stay positive and I found myself in a state of lethargy. Truthfully it's not much better now, but I'm finding ways to adapt to this new life we are all experiencing. The new normal. My creative process has been on the rise again and I'm excited to release new content. I have two new albums, Toodle-Loo and Cowboy Practice, that are both almost ready for release as well as a collection of poetry. I also have another EP with FM Thread that is soooo close to being finished. Now that I'm starting to get a grip again on my creative process within the sphere of covid the next steps are looming. How to self-release and self-promote in a world without touring and gigging? 


What advice would you give an up and coming band as to the music industry?

The music industry is complicated but not impossible. My advice to up and coming bands would be to accept that you can't understand everything about the music industry. It's going to change and evolve as soon as you have a grasp on one part of it. Especially during a pandemic! You should try and learn as much as you can about it, but accept that it's dynamic, be willing to change with it, and understand that you can (and should) go against it. Not only are you adapting to the industry but the industry is constantly adapting to the artists, professionals, and bands. You are the industry. Subscribe to some trusted publications, read books about the industry (and also the fun ones about rockstar's wild lives), and connect with people who are doing it right now. It's as easy as sending them a tweet these days. 


Do you think there could be a January May reunion Album?

Of course.



What was the inspiration behind "Hands and Feet"?

Hands & Feet was co-written with my dad, Marty. The song is dedicated to his late brother, Keith. I wrote the song after my brother moved back to the U.S. and we were apart after a year of being cramped together in a Nissan Homy. It was difficult for me to be without him. I spoke with my dad about this and he began to tell me stories about him and his brother. I was immediately obsessed with these stories and we started an email chain in which I asked him heaps of questions regarding his brother and their childhood 'adventures' together. It quickly turned into a song and I asked my dad to help me piece it together. This song means a lot to me. It's a tribute Marty and Keith as well as a tribute to the love I have for my big brother. If you have a sibling and you haven't spoken with them in a while - give them a call. Or just listen to Hands & Feet and have a soft little cry to yourself.


What does the future hold for Matthew Darius Campbell regarding the music industry?

It's impossible to say. I suppose you'll see those two albums I mentioned earlier and a collection of poetry. (assuming I can keep up the motivation during these covid-blues). Maybe I'll release some music videos. I haven't been thinking about the future of Matthew Darius Campbell much right now. Probably not the strongest business plan, however I've got plenty of time to sort that stuff out. Right now I'm really enjoying drinking lots of tea, reading young adult fiction, and writing average poetry. I'm also really enjoying taking the time to speak with you for the 3300+Climbing blog. Thanks again for the amazing experience you provided for January May and the great work you continue to do for up and coming bands. 


You never know what path you will take or what turn you may miss. The beauty of it all is that it's your journey. Sometimes others may take it with you and other times it will be just you. It comes down to how you will adapt to that journey. From darkness to light, over the hills and through the mountains or gasping for air as you stroll through the desert. Matthew makes a great point when he provided advice to up and coming artists about the music industry, "...be willing to change with it, understand that you can (and should) go against it. The industry is also adapting to artists, professionals, and bands". After talking with Matthew about his adventure, I would say, that is sound advice. I am eagerly anticipating Matthew Darius Campbell's new material.


Keep up with us on social media!


Instagram: @3300Climbing

Facebook: @3300Climbing


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
bottom of page